Honors for Stephen Sondheim and Eric Charles May


On October 21, 2015 the Chicago Public Library Foundation and the Chicago Public Library will honor legendary composer and lyricist Stephen Sondheim with the Carl Sandburg Literary Award. Sondheim is universally heralded for his immense contributions to musical theater in a career spanning more than 50 years. 

Novelist Eric Charles May will receive the 21st Century Award, which salutes authors who have released few but exceptional books. An associate professor in the Fiction Writing program of Columbia College, the native Chicagoan’s debut novel “Bedrock Faith” was published in 2014 to widespread acclaim.

The highlight of the evening is an insight-filled onstage conversation with the esteemed Mr. Sondheim moderated by National Public Radio host and author Scott Simon.

We generously thank the Presenting Sponsor of the Sandburg Literary Awards Dinner, BMO Harris Bank.

The Carl Sandburg Literary Award is presented annually to an acclaimed author in recognition of outstanding contributions to the literary world and honors a significant work or body of work that has enhanced the public's awareness of the written word.

The 21st Century Award honors significant recent achievement in writing by a Chicago-based author. In presenting this award, the Foundation's Directors hope to encourage the creation of new works and increase public awareness of the writer's talents.